Home Page

Meet the Governors

Welcome to the Governors' Section!

Here you will find brief information on the Governors, details of upcoming meetings and events and minutes from the meeting

The role of the Governors

The governing body meets regularly and works with the head teacher and the staff to decide the school's aim and policies and to oversee the efficient running of the school by fulfilling three core strategic functions. these are -:
  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction.
  • Holding executive leaders to account for educational performance of the organisation and its pupils and the performance management of staff.
  • Oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure its money is well spent.




Meet the Governors ...



All the Governors

The members of the Governing Body are: 

Christine Henshall - Foundation Governor -appointed by the Archdiocese. Chairperson, member of the finance committee and curriculum committee, governor for the Arts and history and geography.


Paul Hodge  - Foundation Governor -appointed by the Archdiocese, Vice Chairperson of the FGB,  member of the curriculum and finance committee, governor with responsibility for the website.


Father Gordon - Foundation Governor - appointed by the Archdiocese, member of the Finance Committee


Deacon Derek Morris -  Foundation Governor - appointed by the Archdiocese,  member of both Curriculum and Finance Committee, governor of maths and RE in school. 

Phil Harte - Foundation Governor - appointed by the Archdiocese, chair of the curriculum committee, member of the Finance committee, science governor. 

Linda Morris - Foundation governor - appointed by the Archdiocese, member of the curriculum committee,  governor for SEND and Pupil premium.

Glyn Donohue - Local Authority governor - appointed by the LA Chair of the finance committee and governor for health and safety in school. 

John Clegg - teacher governor and member of the curriculum committee, appointed through a vote by all school staff


Emma Fox  - Parent Governor - appointed through nomination and vote by parents - member of the Finance Committee and Safeguarding Governor. 


Diane Gaskell - Foundation governor - appointed by the Archdiocese.


Catha Seddon - Parent Governor- appointed through nomination and vote by parents. Member of the curriculum committee. 


Rebecca Seddon - Associate Member - appointed by the Governing Board






Governors' Meetings

The governors meet as a full governing body 3 times a year. The governors also meet as committees each term.


The curriculum committee meet each term to discuss the subjects and the curriculum and monitor the progress of pupils. 

The finance committee meet termly to monitor and approve the school budget and maintenance of the school building and contents. 


Minutes of these meetings are available in the school office.


Governing Body Composition:

Type of Governor






Local Authority






Associate Members


Names of Governors

Type of Governor

Term of Office

Date of appoint-ment

Date of resignation

(if resigned in the last 12 months)

Appointing Body

Mr Derek Morris


1-9-16 to 31-8-20




Mr Phil Harte



21-11-16 to 21-11-20




Mrs Christine Henshall (Chair)


23-11-15 to 22-11-19




Mr Paul Hodge

Vice chair


14-11-16 to 13-11-20




Miss Diane Gaskell


1-9-19 to 





Mrs Linda Morris


1-2-16 to 31-1-19




Father Gordon Abbs Foundation 

6-3-19  to 


6-3-19    Archdiocese 

Mrs Rebecca Seddon

Associate Member 

12-10-19 to 11-10-23



Governing Board 

Susan Leck


01-03-14 to




Appointed by Governing Body

John Clegg



1-2-15 to 31-1-19



Staff Ballot

Glyn Donohue

Local Authority

8-1-17 to




Local Authority

Catha Seddon 

Parent Governor 

22-10-19 to 21-10-23



Parental Ballot 

Mrs Emma Fox 


16-10-18 to




Parental Ballot 


Responsibility  Name
Safeguarding Governor Emma Fox 
SEND governor Linda Morris
Health and Safety governor  Glyn Donohue / John Clegg
Pupil Premium  Linda Morris
RE Governor Derek Morris 
Link Governor  Christine Henshall 
Literacy Governor  Diane Gaskell  

Maths Governor 


Arts Governor

Derek Morris 


Christine Henshall



Governor Details of Pecuniary Interest  Details of personal Interest 
Derek Morris Nil Governor at All Saints RC Primary 
Paul Hodge  Nil Nil
Phil Harte  Nil Nil
Linda Morris  Nil Nil
Glyn Donohue Nil Nil
Lucy Unsworth  Nil Nil
Rebecca Seddon  Nil Nil
Christine Henshall  Nil Nil
John Clegg  Nil Nil
Susan Leck  Nil Nil


Attendance at Meetings         
Name  FGB Nov 18  FGB March 2019 FGB June 2019 FGB Nov 2019
Derek Morris  attended  apologies  attended  attended 
Paul Hodge attended  attended  attended  attended
Phil Harte  attended attended  attended  attended 
Linda Morris  attended attended  attended  attended
Glyn Donohue  attended apologies  attended  attended
Father Gordon Abbs    apologies  attended  attended
Rebecca Seddon  attended attended  attended   
Christine Henshall  attended attended  attended  attended 
John Clegg  attended attended  attended  attended
Susan Leck  attended attended  attended  attended 
Emma Fox  attended  attended  attended  attended 
Diane Gaskell        attended 
Catha Seddon         


Name of Governor Finance December 18  Feb 19  May 19 Nov 19 
Glyn Donohue   Chair Attended  Attended Attended  Apologies
Derek Morris  Apologies  Attended Apologies  Attended
Paul Hodge Attended  Attended Apologies  Apologies
Christine Henshall  Attended  Attended Attended  Attended 
Father Gordon Abbs  N/A  N/A Apologies  Apologies 
Susan Leck  Attended  Attended  Attended  Attended
Phil Harte  Apologies  Attended  Apologies  Attended


Name of Governor Curriculum Dec 18  Curric Feb 19 Curric July 19  Curric Oct 19  
Phil Harte   Chair Apologies  Attended  Apologies  Attended 
Derek Morris  Attended  Attended  Attended  Attended 
Paul Hodge  Apologies  Apologies  Attended Apologies
Linda Morris  Attended  Attended  Apologies  Apologies 
Rebecca Seddon  Attended  Apologies  Attended  N/A 
John Clegg  Attended  Attended  Attended Attended 
Susan Leck  Attended  Attended  Attended Attended 
Christine Henshall  Attended Attended  Attended Attended
Emma Fox  N/A  Attended  Apologies  Attended 
Diane Gaskell  N/A  N/A  N/A  Attended